Academic Excellence

75 years of rigorous, classical education

Mathematics

Mathematics is taught at St. Anselm's in the traditional way, building strong foundations in Algebra, Geometry, and Calculus which give our students the tools needed to make predictive analyses of their world.

Department Overview

Every student has math class every day, and all students take an Advanced Placement Mathematics course their senior year with ninety-five percent taking AP Calculus. Technology is implemented to augment, but not replace, the classical formalism of Mathematics.


Curriculum Sequence

Form A Fundamentals of Math
Form I
Pre-Algebra
Form II
Algebra
Form III
Algebra II & Trigonometry
Form IV
Geometry
Form V AB Pre-Calculus or BC Pre-Calculus and AP Calculus I BC
Form VI
AB Pre-Calculus students: AP AB Calculus or AP Statistics
BC Pre-Calculus students: AP BC Calculus II; Calculus III (Multivariable)*
*Instructor permission needed


Course Descriptions

Mathematics Faculty
Mr. John Corrigan, '83, Department Chair
Algebra I; Pre-Calculus (BC); AP Calculus (BC) I & II
B.S., Physics, University of Maryland
jcorrigan@saintanselms.org
Mr. Brandon Alegbeleye, '10
Mathematics
M.S., Northwestern University
B.S., Northwestern University
balegbeleye@saintanselms.org
Mr. Chris Battle
Mathematics
B.A., Biology, Johns Hopkins University
cbattle@saintanselms.org
Mr. Paul Commins
Algebra II/Trigonometry; AP Statistics
M.S., Statistics, University of Minnesota
B.A., Mathematics, Grinnell College
pcommins@saintanselms.org

Dr. Michael Manglitz, '00
Pre-Algebra
Ph.D. English Language and Literature, The Catholic University of America
M.Ed. Reading Instruction, Goucher CollegeM.A. English Literature, The Catholic University of America B.A.
English Literature & Secondary Education, Goucher College
mmanglitz@saintanselms.org

Mr. John Montroll
Geometry, AP Calculus (AB)
M.A., Applied Mathematics, University of Maryland
M.A., Electrical Engineering, University of Michigan
B.A., Mathematics, University of Rochester
jmontroll@saintanselms.org
Dr. Herbert T. Wood
Multi-Variable Calculus
Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, University of Wisconsin, Madison
B.Ch.E., Chemical Engineering, Catholic University of America
hwood@saintanselms.org