St. Anselm’s Abbey School

A Catholic, Benedictine School for Boys Grades 6 - 12

Academic Excellence

75 years of rigorous, classical education

Science

The Science program at St. Anselm’s is designed to develop an understanding and appreciation for natural phenomena.

Department Overview

Our classes are built upon inquiry based activities, laboratory investigations, mathematical analysis and textbook readings. Technology is woven through all aspects of the science curriculum. Each student in Forms A – Form VI has science class every day, which includes a double period lab session once per week.

Curriculum Sequence

Form A
Life Science
Form I
Earth Science
Form II
Physical Science
Form III
Chemistry
Form IV
Physics
Form V
AP Biology; Additional electives offered (Please see below)
Form VI
Electives offered: AP Chemistry; AP Physics; AP Environmental
Science; Introductions to Civil, Mechanical, Chemical or Electrical
Engineering; AP Computer Science; Introduction to Robotics and
Advanced Robotics; Anatomy & Physiology; Biotechnology

Course Descriptions

Science & Technology Faculty
Mr. Bryan Taylor, Department Chair
Physics; AP Physics; Robotics I; AP Computer Science
M.P.S., Middle School Mathematics, George Washington University
B.S., Civil Engineering, University of Colorado
btaylor@saintanselms.org
Mr. Chris Battle
AP Biology, AP Environmental Science
B.A. Biology, Johns Hopkins University
cbattle@saintanselms.org

Mrs. Kay Kalhorn
Life Science, Physical Science
M.S., Biology, Georgetown University
B.A., Physics, College of the Holy Cross
kkalhorn@saintanselms.org
Ms. Sean Lane
Intro. Computers, Computer I
B.A., Art and Design Technology, Art Institute of Atlanta
B.S., Economics and Business, Florida A&M University
slane@saintanselms.org
Ms. Jessie Martin
Chemistry
B.A. Gettysburg College
jmartin@saintanselms.org
Fr. Peter Weigand, OSB
Earth Science
M.T.S., Biology, Catholic University of America
B.D., Theology, Catholic University of America
B.A., Philosophy, Catholic University of America
pweigand@saintanselms.org
Dr. Herbert T. Wood
Introduction to Mechanical Engineering; Intro to Civil Engineering
Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, University of Wisconsin, Madison
B.Ch.E., Chemical Engineering, Catholic University of America
hwood@saintanselms.org